My paper jungle visits Japan!

linda toigo the wild green yonder det

Yay! I have just found out that my submission has been accepted in the International Papercut Triennale in Minobu, Japan.

I have recently been interested in representing natural ecosystems with paper.

As it happens in nature, the most important element in a papercut is solidity and balance: everything needs to be linked together in a solid yet fragile system. If something breaks or lacks balance, the rest will fall apart.

For Minobu, I decided to study the Amazon forest and the variety of species living in the different vertical levels of the jungle. Studying natural books and photographs, I created a three-level systems of interconnecting elements.

I sketched every layer on thin paper and I then cut the drawings from two sheets at the same time, so that I could keep a hand-cut copy for myself and I could also try out different colour variations.

I separated the different layers and the background using foam board strips backed with double sided tape.

linda toigo the wild green yonder workinprogress2

A back lit papercut is always of great effect:

linda toigo the wild green yonder workinprogress3

linda toigo the wild green yonder workinprogress1

linda toigo the wild green yonder work in progress

Here is the final work. Re-thinking about it, I probably could have added more complexity within the layers.

My project will be exhibited together with 50 other works from around the world until November 2016.

linda toigo the wild green yonder fulllinda toigo the wild green yonder alinda toigo the wild green yonder blinda toigo the wild green yonder clinda toigo the wild green yonder d

2 comments

  1. Congratulations! This papercut is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

